I’m sitting in my office listening to the happy hum of student newspapering going on directly outside. I can say I am continually impressed by the group of students who manage the newspaper at South Dakota State University. They are a diverse bunch that manages to mesh their skills and personalities into an award-winning newspaper project each week.

I just returned from the past editor’s office where he was designing a very visually appealing ad for another student organization and I’m currently eavesdropping on the editor, managing editor, visual editor and photo chief, plan the copy ads and photos for our orientation issue.

Not only are they consummate professionals, they are also engaging, smart and witty people to interact with each day. I am truly fortunate to have this job.

